Flex plan: Subscription page

Account admins can manage Session Units (SUs) for workspaces, disable flex usage, and edit notifications from the Subscription page.

 

This article applies to: ut logo tiny.pngUserTesting 

 

On this page:

 


 

The Subscription page

  • Find the Subscription page under Settings.
  • The Subscription page shows information about your Flex plan subscription, such as:
    • The subscription end date
    • The number of days remaining in the subscription period
    • Session Units (SUs) (total usage testing capacity)
    • Flex usage testing capacity data
  • Click on View usage and history to manage your usage summary as well as view which team members and workspaces use the subscription the most.
    Subscription_info.png

 

 

Manage Session Units for workspaces

Account admins can limit the number of Session Units (SUs) a workspace can expend. 

  1. On the Subscription page, go to Workspace Session Unit (SU) limits.
  2. View the SUs available on the account and set SU limits to the workspaces.
  3. Click the Set Limit button to set an SU limit for a specific workspace.
    Screen_Shot_2022-04-15_at_3.11.54_PM.png
  4. Select the workspace from the drop-down menu.
  5. Enter the SU limit for that workspace.
    1. The dialog box will update to show how many SUs the workspace has already used.
      Screen_Shot_2022-04-15_at_3.14.34_PM.png
    2. The workspace SU limit will appear with the option to remove or edit the SU limit. Admins can also monitor how many SUs have been used from the limit amount. 
      Workspace_SU_5.png

Notes:

  • If the SU limit is removed, the workspace will still be able to launch tests by using SUs from the account pool.
  • If a workspace has nearly reached its SU limit, a warning appears under SU limit to inform you that the workspace needs more SUs or that you will need to remove the limit for team members to continue launching tests.
    Workspace_SU_7.png

 

Workspace SU limit best practices and use cases

  • Limit up to 100% of the account's available testing capacity—the amount of committed usage testing capacity you have purchased minus any SUs consumed by completed or pending sessions.
  • Ensuring that all workspaces within an account have limits makes it more likely that each workspace will have access to all the SUs up to its limit.
  • Vary the SU limits for each workspace, if you so desire.
    • For example, if you have 100 SUs of available testing capacity, you could give Workspace A a limit of 25, give Workspace B a limit of 30, and leave Workspace C without a limit.
  • Set limits for some workspaces and no limits for others.
    • If you disable flex usage, it is possible that the workspaces without limits will consume all the SUs available on the account before the workspaces with restrictions have been able to reach their limit.

 

 

Disable/enable flex usage

What is flex usage?

  • Flex usage allows you to continue scheduling and launching tests after your account has consumed all Session Units (SUs) on your committed testing capacity.
  • You can check your account's Available SUs on the Usage and history dashboard.
    • Pending SUs, while not shown in the Usage summary, can be found in the CSV export.
  • Accounts can launch tests at flex usage rates or purchase add-on usage.
  • Additional usage in flex is totaled every month and billed for every quarter.
  • If you want to restrict your team’s ability to consume flex usage testing capacity once your committed usage testing capacity has been reached, you have the option to disable flex usage.

 

Benefits

  • Accounts may benefit from disabling flex if they want to ensure they stay on budget for the subscription period.
  • Accounts may benefit from keeping flex enabled if they want to ensure that their team can continue testing even after surpassing the committed usage.
  • If plans change, Admins can turn flex usage on and off for the account at any time during the subscription period.
  • Note: Disabling flex is available only when flex has not already been disabled on the subscription.
    • If a request has been made to disable flex at the subscription level (through UserTesting Support) then this self-service capability will not be shown.
    • Flex usage is enabled by default on all accounts.

 

Disable flex usage

  1. Go to the Subscription page under Settings.
  2. Scroll down to the section titled Flex usage.
    FLex_usage.png
  3. Select Do not allow flex usage.
  4. Click Update.

 

Enable flex usage

  1. Go to the Subscription page under Settings.
  2. Scroll down to the section titled Flex usage.
  3. Select Allow flex usage option.
  4. Click Update.

Tip: After disabling flex, we recommend that admins track SU usage via the Usage and history dashboard to help with situations where users are unable to launch tests or fill the desired number of sessions for a test.

 

 

Subscription notifications

Opt in or out of email notifications whenever a team member or any single test exceeds the set SUs for the month.

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Click the Subscription page.
  3. Scroll down to Subscription Notifications.
  4. Turn on notifications and set the SU threshold. 
    subscription_4.png

 

When UserTesting notifies account members

  • A Creator with zero SUs left will see a banner on the UserTesting dashboard informing them of the state of the account. Creators can still create test drafts and queue them up.
  • A Creator who creates a test and selects more participants than the available SUs allow, a banner notification suggests reducing the number of participants, changing the network type, or contacting the admin to purchase additional testing capacity.

 

 

Related Content

information icon.png

knowledge icon.png

Want to learn more? Check out these Knowledge Base articles... 

Interested in growing your skills? Check out our University courses...

video icon 2.png

team icon.png

Need hands-on training?

Can't find your answer?

 

Please provide any feedback you have on this article. Your feedback will be used to improve the article and should take no more than 5 minutes to complete. Article evaluations will remain completely confidential unless you request a follow-up. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful