Workspaces: Overview

 

At a Glance

Workspaces allow you to effectively organize and control access to your templates and tests across projects and teams. If you are on the Advanced, Ultimate, or Premium subscription plans, you can access unlimited workspaces. If you are on the Essentials, Startup, or Professional plans, you only have access to one workspace.

 

Workspaces are available on the following subscriptions:

Flex plan Seat-based plan
Essentials ✓ (1 workspace) Startup ✓ (1 workspace)
Advanced ✓ (unlimited workspaces) Professional ✓ (1 workspace)
Ultimate ✓ (unlimited workspaces) Premium ✓ (unlimited workspaces)

 

Click on the following header titles to skip to that section of the article:

Key Features

Workspaces enable you to:

  • Improve the organization of your templates, tests, and, team members
  • Assign and maintain privacy for projects or teams* 
  • Assign permission capabilities at a per-workspace level* 

We recommend you use a single workspace per team, and use folders for your projects.

*Available only to Advanced, Ultimate, Premium editions with unlimited workspaces enabled.

Viewing Tests, Drafts, and Highlight Reels in a Workspace Page

Access the tests, drafts, and highlight reels in a selected workspace, all in one place. The Workspace page displays a card-like view of tests, drafts, and highlight reels from a selected workspace, displaying the most recent engagement. 

In the navigation menu, click Workspaces to see active tests and insights in a given workspace.

Workspace__1_.png

Adding Team Members to Workspaces

Note: This capability is available only to Advanced, Ultimate, Premium editions with unlimited workspaces enabled.

UserTesting Admins or Workspace Owners on the Advanced, Ultimate, or Premium subscription can add team members to workspaces. First, go to the Navigation menu, choose the workspace switcher, then select Manage workspaces. 

workspaces.png

You’ll be taken to the Manage workspaces page, which lists all the workspaces under this account.

workspaces_4.png

For the workspace you (as the Admin or Workspace Owner) wish to update, click the ellipsis (three dots) to the right. Select Add team members from the drop-down.

workspaces_5.png

Type in the email address of the team member you wish to add to the workspace. Clicking Add Member automatically sends the member an invitation to join.

workspace_6.png

How to Assign Workspace Permissions

Note: This capability is available only to Advanced, Ultimate, Premium editions with unlimited workspaces enabled.

On Advanced, Ultimate, and Premium subscriptions, all new members added to a workspace are by default assigned "Collaboration only" status. This status limits the member's capabilities so that they are not allowed to create, review, or launch tests in this workspace. The account admin or workspace owner can set permissions for that new member (or change the permissions of existing members).

To set or change workspace permissions, go to the Manage workspaces page, and click the drop-down next to the text indicating the number of members. You'll see the names of all the members belonging to the workspace.

workspace_7.png

Clicking the drop-down beneath a member's name and selecting the All permissions option will allow that member to create, review, and launch tests.

workspace_8.png

Note: For the All permissions option to be available at the workspace level, the user must have account-level permissions to create tests. To check what permissions level the user has, go to Settings and, from the People tab, review the account permissions for the member (account admins can change these permissions).

Keep in mind: New tests and highlight reels are automatically assigned to the current workspace.

 

Learn More

Need more information? Read these related articles.

Want to learn more about this topic? Check out our University courses.

Please provide any feedback you have on this article. Your feedback will be used to improve the article and should take no more than 5 minutes to complete. Article evaluations will remain completely confidential unless you request a follow-up. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful