Manage multiple workspaces

With multiple workspaces, organize templates, tests, and access to open, private, and hidden workspaces.

 

This article applies to: ut logo tiny.pngUserTesting 


On this page:


Key Features

  • Improve the organization of your templates, tests, and team members.
  • Assign and maintain privacy for projects or teams.
  • Assign permission capabilities at a per-workspace level.
    Pro tip: Use a single workspace per team, and use folders for your projects.

Note: Available only to Advanced, Ultimate, and Premium editions with unlimited workspaces enabled.

 

Terminology

Workspace Creator: The team member who originally created a workspace. If you are on the Advanced, Ultimate, or Premium subscription, new workspaces can be created by either the UserTesting Admin or any team member who has an Unlimited license (seat-based plan). Admins also have the ability to generate multiple workspaces in a single instance. By default, Workspace Creators are granted the highest workspace-level permission available to them, based on their license type.

Workspace Owner: A team member assigned to a specific workspace who has permission to add and remove other members in that workspace and also assign permission levels in that workspace.  

General Workspace: The default workspace when no additional workspaces have been created. All team members will be automatically added to this workspace. Tests ordered prior to new workspaces being created will live here.

Open Workspace: Designated by the Workspace Creator or Workspace owner, an Open Workspace is accessible and available to join by any team member on the account. Team members who join will be automatically granted the permission level of "Collaboration Only."

Private Workspace: Designated by the Workspace Creator or Workspace Owner, a Private Workspace indicates that team members must be invited to join the workspace. Once formed, tests, clips, and highlight reels are only available to view by team members who are a part of that Private Workspace.

Hidden Workspace: Designated by the Workspace Creator or Workspace Owner, a Hidden Workspace indicates that team members on the account (except for Admins) cannot see the workspace unless they have been invited to join it. Once formed, tests, clips, and highlight reels are only available to view by team members who are a part of that Hidden Workspace.

Collaboration Only: A workspace-level permission. Team members with this permission can view and analyze videos. They cannot create drafts or launch tests in the workspace, even if they have an Unlimited (seat-based plan) or a Creator (Flex plan) license at the account level. 

All Permissions: A workspace-level permission. Team members with this permission can edit and launch tests, in addition to viewing and analyzing videos. If a team member is a Collaborator (seat-based plan) or a Viewer (Flex plan) on the account, they cannot create or launch any tests, regardless of the permission level they have in the workspace.

Viewing tests, drafts, and highlight reels

In the navigation menu, click Workspaces to see active tests and insights in a given workspace.
Workspace__1_.png

 

Creating a workspace

Seat-based plan

  • Select the workspace and account switcher in the navigation panel and choose Create workspace.
  • A dialog box will appear where you name your workspace and make it open, private, or hidden.
  • For more information on how to control who sees your workspace content, review our "Workspaces and Video Security" article.
    workspace_types.png

Flex-plan

  • Select the Workspaces tab on the Settings page.
  • Select Create workspace.
  • A dialog box will appear where you name your workspace and make it open, private, or hidden.

    flexplan_create_workspace.png

 

Inviting team members to workspaces


Seat-based plan

  • To update the Workspace, select the ellipsis (three dots).
  • Select Add team members, from drop-down.
  • Type in the email address of the team member.
  • Select Add members, an invitation will automatically be sent for them to join.
    workspace_6.png


Flex plan

  • Select the Workspaces tab on the Settings page.
  • Select drop-down next to Workspace title, then Add members.
  • Type in the email address of the team member.
  • Select Add members, an invitation will automatically be sent for them to join.

flexplan_addmembers.png

 

Assign workspace permissions

Seat-based plan

  • All new members added to a workspace are by default assigned Collaboration only status.
  • To set or change workspace permissions, go to the Manage workspaces page, and select the drop-down next to the text indicating the number of members.
  • Select the drop-down beneath a member's name and choose the level permission assigned.
    workspace_8.png


Flex plan

  • All new members added to a workspace are by default assigned Collaboration only status.
  • Select the Workspaces tab on the Settings page.
  • Select drop-down next to number of Workspace members.
  • Choose access level assigned.
    flex_plan_permissions.png

Managing session units

 

Related Content

information icon.png

knowledge icon.png

Want to learn more? Check out these Knowledge Base articles... 

Interested in growing your skills? Check out our University courses...

video icon 2.png

team icon.png

Need hands-on training?

Can't find your answer?

Please provide any feedback you have on this article. Your feedback will be used to improve the article and should take no more than 5 minutes to complete. Article evaluations will remain completely confidential unless you request a follow-up. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful