Managing Your Subscription on the Flex Plan

At a Glance

Account admins can access the Subscriptions page in the UserTesting settings for visibility and control of subscription features, including the ability to disable flex usage.

 

Overview

For an overview on planning tests and managing usage on the Flex plan, read our article on "Guidance for Admins on the Flex Plan", and check out our course on Managing and Using the Flex Plan.

Click on the following header titles to skip to that section of the article:

 

Your Subscription Page

From your UserTesting account dropdown, select Settings.

Screen_Shot_2021-12-13_at_11.56.57_AM.png

In Settings, click the Subscription tab. 

subscription_1.png

The Subscription page will show you information about your Flex plan subscription, such as subscription end date and the number of days remaining in the subscription period. You also have quick visibility into your total committed usage Testing Capacity in session units (SUs) and flex usage Testing Capacity; you can click on View usage and history to manage your usage summary as well as view top usage by team member and workspace.

subscription_2.png

Managing Session Units for Workspaces

As an Admin, you may want to limit the number of Session Units (SUs) a workspace can use to better manage how team members consume SUs across your account. 

On the Subscription page, find the section titled Workspace Session Unit (SU) limits. This section shows the SUs available on your account that you can set as SU limits to your workspaces. You can also see the total SUs that have already been used in specific workspaces.

Screen_Shot_2022-04-15_at_3.11.54_PM.png

Click the Set Limit button to set an SU limit for a specific workspace.

Screen_Shot_2022-04-15_at_3.12.53_PM.png

Next, select the workspace from the dropdown menu, then enter the SU limit for that workspace. 

Screen_Shot_2022-04-15_at_3.13.48_PM.png

The dialogue box will update to show how many SUs the workspace has already used.

Screen_Shot_2022-04-15_at_3.14.34_PM.png

On the Subscription page, the workspace SU limit will appear with the option to remove or edit the SU limit. You can also monitor how many SUs have been used from the limit amount in the workspace. 

Workspace_SU_5.png

If you remove the SU limit from a workspace, the workspace will still be able to launch tests by using SUs from the account pool.

Screen_Shot_2022-04-15_at_3.17.21_PM.png

If a workspace has nearly reached its SU limit, a warning symbol will appear under SU limit to inform you that the workspace will need more SUs or will need the limit removed so that team members can continue launching tests.

Workspace_SU_7.png

You can limit up to 100% of your available testing capacity (the amount of committed usage testing capacity you have purchased, minus any SUs consumed by completed or pending sessions) to workspaces. 

SU limits can vary as desired for each workspace. For example, if you have 100 SUs of available testing capacity, you could give Workspace A a limit of 25, give Workspace B a limit of 30, and leave workspace C without a limit.

This feature allows you to set limits on the number of SUs a workspace can use. It does not guarantee that a particular workspace will be able to use all of the SUs up to the limit.

For example, you may have some workspaces with limits and some without. If flex usage is turned off, it is possible that the workspaces without limits will consume all the SUs available on the account before the workspaces with limits have been able to reach their limit.

Ensuring that all workspaces within an account have limits makes it much more likely that each workspace will have access to all the SUs up to its limit.

How Disabling Flex Usage Works

Flex usage allows you to continue scheduling and launching tests after your account has consumed all SUs on your committed testing capacity. Accounts have the option to launch tests at flex usage rates, or purchase add-on usage. Any additional usage in flex will be totaled every month and billed for every quarter.

If you want to restrict your team’s ability to consume flex usage Testing Capacity once your committed usage Testing Capacity has been reached, you have the option to disable flex usage. Accounts may benefit from disabling flex if they want to ensure they stay on budget for the subscription period. Accounts may benefit from keeping flex enabled if they want to ensure that their team can continue testing even after surpassing the committed usage.

If plans change, admins can turn flex usage on and off for the account at any time during the subscription period.

Note: This feature is only available if flex has not already been disabled on the subscription. If a request has been made to disable flex at the subscription level (via UserTesting Support) then this self-service capability will not be shown. Flex usage is enabled by default on all accounts.

To disable flex, navigate to the Subscription page under Settings. Then, scroll down to the section titled Flex usage

subscription_3.png

Select the radio button for Do not allow flex usage and click Save.

Tip: After disabling flex, we recommend that Admins track SU usage via the Usage and History Dashboard to help alleviate situations where users on the account are unable to launch tests or fill the desired number of sessions for a test.

To re-enable flex usage, follow the same process and select the option for Allow flex usage.

Subscription Notifications

Admins can opt-in to email notifications for their subscription whenever a team member or any single test exceeds the set SUs for the month. To turn on notifications and set the threshold for SUs, navigate to the Subscription page under Settings. Then, scroll down to the section titled Subscription Notifications

subscription_4.png

UserTesting notifies team members on the account when they cannot launch tests that would go over the committed usage in a few different ways.

  1. When a user with test creation permissions on an account with zero SUs left signs into UserTesting, they will see a banner at the top of the dashboard informing them of the state of the account. Users can still queue up tests by creating drafts.
  2. A user with test creation permissions creates a test and edits the audience they wish to receive the test. If the user selects more contributors than the available number of SUs allow, a banner notification informs them of the state of the account and suggests reducing the number of contributors, changing the contributor network type, or contacting their admin to purchase additional testing capacity.
  3. A user with test creation permissions creates a test and selects a saved audience. Should the user select more contributors than the available number of SUs will allow, a banner notification informs them of the state of the account and advises them on how many contributors they can add to the test based on available testing capacity.
  4. A user with test creation permissions goes to add additional contributors to a launched test. Should the user select more contributors than the available number of SUs will allow, a banner notification informs them of the state of the account and advises them on how many contributors they can add based on available testing capacity. 

 

Learn More

Need more information? Read these related articles.

Want to learn more about this topic? Check out our University courses. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful