At a Glance
Follow the steps below to make edits to a test after you've launched.
What happens if you identify changes or updates to be made to a test after you have already launched it? Do you have to start all over and create a new test? Depending on your needs, you have several options: Editing your screener questions, editing your tasks and questions, and editing your demographic filters.
Fortunately, in the UserTesting app, you can make edits to your test after you've launched it. Why might you need to make changes to a test? Let's review:
Note: If you don't need to make updates but would like to add more contributors, you can do so using the link underneath your test name when on the test summary page.
Editing Screener Questions
If you need to edit your screener questions, you can do so by clicking the Edit screener link that is underneath the Session tab when looking at your test details.
You can add, remove, or edit any of your existing Screener Questions.
When you're happy with your questions, you can click update to save any changes made.
Editing Tasks and Questions
If you want to make changes to the tasks and questions in your test, you can select options on your dashboard to reveal a drop-down menu with additional options.
Select Edit test details. This will take you to a new page.
From here, you can edit your starting instructions such as the starting URL (if applicable) or the scenario you want to present to contributors.
Next, you can edit any of your tasks or questions.
- The metrics page and export may show inaccurately if a task is added/removed. Minor word updates are fine, however, adding or removing a task may cause the metrics page to show the information inaccurately.
- Image assets are not available to add or edit after the test has been launched. To add or edit an image asset, use the Create similar test option.
Editing Demographic Filters
If you find you need to edit your demographic filters but you've already launched your test, then it's recommended that you cancel any pending sessions, make a copy of your test and update your filters, and relaunch the study.
Best Practice for Editing a Test After Launch
When you make edits to your test, any contributor currently taking the test will continue to see the published version of the test.
Once you save the edits, the next person attempting your screener questions or starting your test will see the edited version. You may want to make a note of those sessions that used the earlier version of the test.
Need more information? Read these related articles.
Want to learn more about this topic? Check out our University courses.