Template Access Control

 

Key Features

How it Works

Saving Templates for Personal Use

Saving Templates to Workspaces

Making Templates Available to all Team Members on the Account

Learn More

Ensure your team has the right resources to efficiently gain human insights by providing access to use, save, assign, and delete templates. This includes templates for Saved Audiences, Screener Questions, and Test Plans.

Key Features

  • Any team member with a light, standard, unlimited or creator seat can save audiences, test plans, and screener questions as personal, workspace, or account. 
  • UserTesting Admins, Workspace Owners, and template owners can control which Insight templates are available in various workspaces.
  • Saving templates to workspaces maintains the relevancy and privacy of templates while supporting the autonomy of individual contributors. 

How It Works

Saving Templates for Personal Use 

Any team member with a light, standard, unlimited, or creator seat can save audiences, test plans, and screener questions as personal.

By saving as Personal, only the team member who created the template:

  • Will see it in both the list of available templates and in the Template Library
  • Can edit or delete the template using the Template Library.

For instructions on how to save templates, see Saved Audiences, Saved Test Plans, and Saved Screener Questions.

Saving Templates to Workspaces

Any team member with a light, standard, unlimited, or creator seat is able to save audiences, test plans, and screener questions as templates to their current workspace, or to any workspace they belong to with "all permissions." For more information about workspace permissions, see Workspaces.

Assigning a template to a workspace means:

  • The template is available for use by all members of that workspace.
  • UserTesting Admins and the team member who created the template can edit or delete the template using the Template Library
  • UserTesting Admins, Workspace Owners, and the team member who created the template can assign a template to additional workspaces. 

To assign a template to additional workspaces:

  1. The template creator, UserTesting Admins, or Workspace Owners navigate to the Template Library.

  2. Choose either the Audiences, Test Plans, or Screener Questions tab to find the template you want to assign.

  3. Choose Assign to Workspaces from the Options menu.

    Template_Controls_.png

  4. Select one or more workspaces to assign the template and give workspace members access to it. 

    Update_Workspaces.png

     

  5. You can also remove template access from currently assigned workspaces by deselecting those workspaces under the Already Assigned tab.

  6. Click Update Workspaces to save your changes. 

Note: The Workspace Owner can only assign templates to workspaces that they are the owner of, and the template's creator can only assign templates to workspaces that they are a member of and that they have "all permissions" for.

For instructions on how to save templates, see Saved Audiences, Saved Test Plans, and Saved Screener Questions.

Making Templates Available to all Team Members on the Account

Any team member with a light, standard, unlimited, or creator seat is able to save audiences, test plans, and screener questions so that they are available to all creator-users, across all workspaces.

To do this, simply save a new template, and select the "Account" option. 

Save_template.png

Once a template is saved as Account, both the team member who created the template, as well as UserTesting Admins, can edit and delete it. 

ⓘ Note: We welcome your feedback! Please send feedback to support@usertesting.com


Learn More

Saved Audiences

Saved Test Plans

Saved Screener Questions

Workspaces

UserTesting Admin

Using Templates

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful