Access Controls—Beta

 

Key Features

How it Works

Saving Templates to a Single Workspace

Making Templates Available for any Workspace

Assigning Templates to Workspaces

Next Steps

Learn More

 

The Access Controls Beta provides greater control over the permissions and ability to use, save, assign, and delete templates–ensuring your team has the right resources to efficiently gain human insights. 

Key Features

  • UserTesting Admins, Workspace Owners, and template owners can control which Insight Core templates are available in various workspaces.
  • Saving templates to workspaces maintains the relevancy and privacy of templates while supporting the autonomy of individual contributors. 

How It Works

Saving Templates to a Single Workspace

Any team member is able to save audiences, test plans, and screener questions as templates to their current workspace. 

Note:  The template is only available in the current workspace the member saved it to, and it cannot become available in any other workspace. 

Any workspace member with a light, standard, or unlimited seat can edit or delete the template using the Template Library.

For instructions on how to save templates, see: Saved Audiences, Saved Test Plans, and Saved Screener Questions.

 

Saving Templates to Additional Workspaces

Any team member with a light, standard, or unlimited seat is able to save audiences, test plans, and screener questions as templates to their current workspace.

Assigning a template to a workspace means the template is available for use by all members of that workspace.

In addition to the template’s creator, both UserTesting Admins and Workspace Owners with a light, standard, or unlimited seat can edit or delete the template using the Template Library.

To assign a template to additional workspaces:

  1. The template creator, UserTesting Admins, or Workspace Owners navigate to the Template Library.

     

  2. Choose either the Audiences, Test Plans, or Screener Questions tab to find the template you want to assign.

     

  3. Choose Assign from the Options menu. A screenshot showing Assign in the Options menu

     

  4. Select one or more workspaces to assign the template and give workspace members access to it. 
    A screenshot showing the Change Assignments window with workspaces selected

     

  5. You can also remove template access from currently assigned workspaces by deselecting those workspaces under the Change Assignments tab.

     

  6. Click Update Workspaces to save your changes. 

Note:  The Workspace Owner can only assign templates to workspaces that they are the owner of, and the template's creator can only assign templates to workspaces that they are a member of.

 For instructions on how to save templates, see: Saved Audiences, Saved Test Plans, and Saved Screener Questions.

 

Making Templates Public

UserTesting Admins are able to save audiences, test plans, and screener questions so that they are available to all creator-users, across all workspaces. To do this, simply save a new template, and select the “Make this an account-level template” option. 

A screenshot of the Save as New Test Plan Template window

  

Next Steps

Features in Development—subject to change:

Ability to save personal templates that only you, the template creator, can see and use. 

Reach out to leigh@usertesting.com with your thoughts about access controls.

 

Learn More

Saved Audiences

Saved Test Plans

Saved Screener Questions

Workspaces

UserTesting Admin

Using Templates

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.