Workspaces: Overview

 

At a Glance

Workspaces allow you to effectively organize and control access to your templates and tests across projects and teams.

 

Workspaces are available on the following subscriptions:

Flex plan Seat-based plan
Essentials Startup
Advanced Professional
Ultimate Premium

 

Click on the following header titles to skip to that section of the article:

Key Features

Workspaces enable you to:

  • Assign and maintain privacy for projects or teams
  • Assign permission capabilities at a per-workspace level
  • Improve the organization of your templates, tests, and, team members

Terminology

Workspace Creator: Team member who originally created a workspace. New workspaces can be created by either the UserTesting Admin or any team member who has an Unlimited license. By default, Workspace Creators are granted the highest workspace-level permission available to them, based on their license type.

Private Workspace: Designated by the Workspace Creator or Workspace Owner, a Private Workspace indicates that team members must be invited to join the workspace. Once formed, tests, clips, and highlight reels are only available to view by team members who are a part of that Private Workspace.

Open Workspace: Designated by the Workspace Creator or Workspace owner, an Open Workspace is accessible and available to join by any team member on the account. Team members who join will be automatically granted the permission level of “Collaboration Only.”

General Workspace: The default workspace when no additional workspaces have been created. All team members will be automatically added to this workspace. Tests ordered prior to new workspaces being created will live here.

Workspace Owner: A team member assigned to a specific workspace who has permissions to add and remove other members in that workspace and also assign permission levels in that workspace.  

Collaboration Only: A workspace-level permission. Team members with this permission can view and analyze videos. They cannot create drafts or launch tests. 

All Permissions: A workspace-level permission. Team members with this permission can edit and launch tests, in addition to viewing and analyzing videos.

How It Works

UserTesting Admins on all account types (and Premium license users on the seat-based plan) can create new workspaces. Select the workspace and account switcher in the navigation panel and choose Create workspace.

workspaces_1.png

A dialog box will appear where you will name your workspace and make it open or private.

workspaces_2.png

For more information on how to control who sees your workspace content, review our "Workspaces and Video Security" article.

Inviting Team Members to Workspaces

UserTesting Admins or Workspace Owners invite team members to workspaces. First, find the workspace to which you want to invite new team members by going to your workspace and account switcher and selecting Manager workspaces.

workspaces_3.png

You’ll be taken to the Manage workspaces page, which lists all the workspaces under this account.

workspaces_4.png

For the workspace you (as the Admin or Workspace Owner) wish to update, click the ellipsis (three dots) to the right. Select Add team members from the drop-down.

workspaces_5.png

Type in the email address of the team member you wish to add to the workspace. Clicking Add Member automatically sends the member an invitation to join.

workspace_6.png

How to Assign Workspace Permissions

All new members are by default assigned “Collaboration only” status. This status limits the member’s capabilities so that they are not allowed to create, review, or launch tests in this workspace. The account admin or workspace owner can set permissions for that new member (or change the permissions of existing members).

To set or change workspace permissions, go to the Manage workspaces page, click the drop-down next to the text indicating the number of members. You'll see the names of all the members belonging to the workspace.

workspace_7.png

Clicking the drop-down beneath a member’s name and selecting the All permissions option will allow that member to create, review, and launch tests.

workspace_8.png

Note: For the All permissions option to be available at the workspace level, the user must have account-level permissions to create tests. To check what permissions level the user has, go to Settings and, from the People tab, review the account permissions for the member (account admins can change these permissions).

Keep in mind: New tests and highlight reels are automatically assigned to the current workspace.

When inviting a new team member, you have the option to specify which workspace they first see upon signing in. Team members will always be invited to the General workspace so as to ensure that they have a space to work from in the event that the other workspaces that they’re members of are archived or deleted.

If you have a Premium or Ultimate subscription, you can save audience, test plan, and screener question templates to specific workspaces. View our "Template Access Control" article for more information.

Managing Session Units for Workspaces

If you're an admin and your account is on the Flex plan, you have the ability to limit the number of Session Units (SUs) a workspace can use to manage how your team consumes SUs across your account. To learn more, read our article on "Managing Your Subscription on the Flex Plan."

 

Learn More

Need more information? Read these related articles.

Want to learn more about this topic? Check out our University courses.

Please provide any feedback you have on this article. Your feedback will be used to improve the article, and when you submit your survey, you'll be entered into a drawing for a $50 Amazon gift card. This survey should take five minutes to complete. Article evaluations will remain completely confidential.

Was this article helpful?
13 out of 15 found this helpful