UserTesting Power-Up in Trello (integration)

Trello is a productivity platform that helps you quickly and easily manage projects. Power-Ups are Trello partner integrations, which support more efficient workflows by enabling customers to connect their Trello with other tools and applications that they use.

How it works

The UserTesting Power-Up allows you to attach video clips, studies, full videos, and highlight reels to your Trello boards. Your attachments will automatically display a rich set of relevant information, and you’ll be able to view the accompanying video directly within Trello.

Here’s an example of a clip attached to a Trello card:

Trello1.png

When you or members of your team are viewing all the different cards related to a single project or if you are taking a high level view over multiple projects, you can immediately see relevant, contextual details.

You can also watch the video without needing to toggle between applications. Simply click on the play icon; a video player will open allowing you to watch the recorded content. With direct access to insights, you can make decisions or create and assign new tasks or next steps for members of your team within the productivity application.

Trello2.png

Set up the UserTesting Power-Up

From your Trello board, click the Show Menu link to expand the Menu.  Click on Power-Ups.

PowerUps1.png

In the search box, type UserTesting. When the UserTesting Power-Up is displayed, clicking the green Add button will add the Power-Up to your Trello Board.

PowerUps2.png

After adding the UserTesting Power-Up to your board, a UserTesting button will be displayed.  You must click the UserTesting button to finalize connecting your UserTesting and Trello accounts.

05-UT-Trello-Board-Button.png

Start using the UserTesting Power-Up

If you have successfully completed the steps to authorize the integration, you can access the UserTesting Power-Up button on the back of any Trello card on that board to attach a study, full video, highlight reel, or video clip.

06-UT-Trello-Attach.png

Attached items will show relevant additional information from UserTesting and give you direct links to content.  For example attaching a study will display the name of the study, study number, current status, order date, number of sessions, number of screener questions, sessions completed, and the number of steps.  Learn how to share a study.

trello8.png

The type of UserTesting study determines what additional information will be displayed. An example of a video clip is below. 

Trello7.png

Clicking on the on the thumbnail will open a UserTesting video player.

TrelloVideoPlayer.png

Board Button

The UserTesting Board button allows to you to create a list from a UserTesting Video URL.  You can easily bring key details from a UserTesting Video on to your Trello board with 1 click. The newly created list will include cards for the video clips associated with the video.

02-Board-Button.png

Users who have not completed authorization process

Users who have not yet authorized the connection between UserTesting and Trello will not see additional information for UserTesting attachments.  Instead, a UserTesting Attachments section is displayed with a list of links to the attached content.

 

10-UT-Trello-BoC-noAuth.png

Users who experience difficulties completing the authorization process should reach out to your organization’s IT team or system administrator for assistance.

Disable the UserTesting Power-Up

Disabling the connection between your UserTesting and Trello accounts is a two-step process.  It can be done in any order on the UserTesting platform or Trello Board but must be completed in both places to finalize.

Disable from UserTesting platform

To disable the UserTesting Power-Up from within the UserTesting platform, open Settings from your dashboard dropdown menu. Then, select the Integrations tab. 

Integrations.png

Click the Disconnect button for the UserTesting Trello Power-Up.

Updated-Integrations-page.png

Disable from Trello Board

To disable the integration from your Trello board, select Power-Ups from the Menu then select Enabled.  Click the gear icon next to UserTesting, and select the Remove Personal Settings button (see below).

11-UT-Trello-Disable-1.png

Clearing your personal data will not cause any data loss, but it removes all additional information that is displayed for attachments, including for the links that were previously shared (during the period that the integration was enabled). Once the integration is disabled, attachments previously created as well as moving forward only show as plain links.

Was this article helpful?
7 out of 7 found this helpful